Home > Misc., Rants > What The F*ck Is Up With Modern Music?

What The F*ck Is Up With Modern Music?

Who here remembers the days when MTV actually was “Music” Television? Back before it was flooded with boring reality shows and only an hour or two of music a day? MTV used to be the shit. Hell, it’s the place where I first saw Michael Jackson’s Thriller, which, as you all know, is arguably the greatest music video ever (Zombie MJ is awesome). But, does anyone really watch MTV anymore? Except for stupid drunk college students who are too hung-over to care what’s on T.V.? 
So, that brings a question: When MTV actually does show music, what do you see, or maybe I should say, hear? Do you hear melody, maybe some harmony, some smooth vocals, a powerful message, and a great beat? No. No you don’t. What do you hear? I don’t know what’s in your ears, but I hear this: 

“And if she tell you ‘yes’/Found another chick that tell you ‘yes’ and bail for sex/I bet that will be freaky/What’s bad are you kinky?” – Juelz Sanatana’s “Freaky”.

I’m not kidding you, either. Rap and hip-hop (There’s a difference?) are all you hear anymore. Whether it be on T.V., or on the radio. I can’t seem to find any quality music that takes real talent to produce anymore. Not on the mainstream, at least. 

Even at school, as I walk through the parking lot on my way home, I hear at least six cars a day blasting some god-awful rap as loud as they can. You want the best part? All I can hear is the bass. Even if I’m walking right next to the car, and the windows are opened, I can still only hear bass. Nothing else.  Really? That’s supposed to be enjoyable? I love my music loud, yes, but I want some layering to it! If it’s so loud that all you can hear is the bass, then what’s the point? A lot of dumbasses like that also seem to enjoy driving around my neighborhood blasting the same crap. 

Another thing; Why does every rap song I ever hear sound exactly the same? It’s always “Random Stereotypical Black Guy 14” talking really fast into a microphone about how he smacked his bitch up, smoked a shit-ton of crack, and shot some cops all at the same time. Sure. That’s enjoyable. I’d rather listen to Cannibal Corpse (see previous post). I know exactly why it’s all so similar.

After a bit of research, I’ve come to the understanding that most rap artists just walk into the studio and “lay down some rhymes”. There’s no writing, no planning, and really, no thought processes. It’s just, “I’m gonna go talk into this microphone about some random crap and get paid to do it.” When that’s all the technique one puts into their song writing, of course they’re going to end up plopping out the same shit over and over and over again. Humans have the tendancy to believe that they can always come up with something unique and random on the spot, but they really don’t. Believe it or not; whenever someone you do something “random”, you probably just did the same thing you did the last time you tried to be random. That’s why rap is always the same thing. These “artists” behind the microphone don’t seem to understand what “art” is in the first place. Art is a thing that takes time, and it cannot be rushed. And it certianly can’t be done in an instant.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “Dude, you listen to Death Metal. That’s just wailing and screaming and pounding on a double-bass all day. How is that any different than what rap artists are doing?” Allow me to explain: The primary difference between Metal and Rap is the presence of melody. Very few rap artists actually take advantage of melody or harmony. We don’t see that in Metal. Do you think those rythym guitarists are just there to be a back-up in case the lead screws up? No. They add melody, and a whole new layer to the music that I’ve yet to hear in rap. As for the screaming; Look, this may sound rediculous, but roaring isn’t easy. Especially to keep it up for an entire set (Cradle of Filth, anyone?). I don’t know anyone that can’t talk really fast into a microphone, but I’ve yet to hear one of my friends do a death roar as spectacularily as Dani Filth or Fernando Ribeiro.

Then there’s the idea of instrumentals. Something rap often lacks. Metal requires great skill in guitar or drum playing (Unless, of course, we’re looking at a vocals-only member), as metal often incorporates far more complicated rythyms than a lot of other genres. About the drums; look, I know double bass may sound stupid, but it is not easy. Especially when you have a more complicated rythym to pound on the rest of the drums with. It requires some extreme coordination.

To talk lyrics: A lot of metal artists actually put thought and time into their lyrics. Despite the stereotypes, it isn’t all just “FUCK THE WORLD!”. There are actually some very interesting lyrical themes spread throughout the sub-genres. For instance; Cradle of Filth’s last album Godspeed On The Devil’s Thunder, was about 15th century serial killer Gilles de Rais. No, I’m not shitting you. Let’s see a rap arist make an entire album about that with their “writing” style. And no, “Yo dat man Gilles, he came and killed a buncha bitches” doesn’t count.

Please, people, turn off the rap bullshit. It’s getting old. Here’s to real music!

Categories: Misc., Rants
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

