Home > Uncategorized > R.I.P. Jimmy “The Rev.” Sullivan

R.I.P. Jimmy “The Rev.” Sullivan

I feel like I need to say something… I woke up this morning at 2 A.M. to find that a friend of mine had joined the group “RIP Jimmy Sullivan ‘The Rev'” on Facebook. The Rev is the drummer for metalcore/hard rock band Avenged Sevenfold, who’s last album brought them into the mainstream. He was often regarded as one of the greatest drummers in metal, or in history. Personally? He’s my #1 drummer. I’ve always loved his style, and his ability to support the band in ways that make him more than just background noise that keeps the beat.

When I first saw the phrase “RIP Jimmy Sullivan”, I thought this would be a joke, or a publicity stunt. After some investigation on Twitter and the news lines… I found that I was very, very wrong.  Jimmy Sullivan of Avenged Sevenfold was indeed found dead in his home late at night on December 28th, 2009. The cause of death is as-of-yet unknown, but he had a history of drug usage.

The band released the following statement on their website: “It is with great sadness and heavy hearts that we tell you of the passing of Jimmy “The Rev” Sullivan. Jimmy was not only one of the world’s best drummers, but more importantly he was our best friend and brother. Our thoughts and prayers go out to Jimmy’s family and we hope that you will respect their privacy during this difficult time. Jimmy you are forever in our hearts. We love you.”

R.I.P. Jimmy Owen Sullivan – 1981 – 2009 – “Such a surreal place to be, so how did this come to be? Arrived too early.”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Alex
    December 29, 2009 at 12:14 PM

    Sorry to see this – he was way too young.

  2. Will
    July 14, 2012 at 9:03 PM

    RIP THE REV will always be the best drummer

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

