Home > Uncategorized > Top 5 Guitarists Of The Last Decade

Top 5 Guitarists Of The Last Decade

So, I might have said I was done with these with the 10 Songs, but there were still two I wanted to do. We’ve already honored the top 5 drummers of the 00ties, now let’s let the guitarists have some of the spot-light.

NUMBER 5:

Dani Evans of ALESTORM

Yes, the pirate metal band just got an award. Despite Alestorm‘s light-hearted piratey goodness, Dani still rips one heluva solo. If he were involved in a more serious band, there would be incredible potential for this pirate fan.

NUMBER 4:

Jim Root of SLIPKNOT and STONE SOUR

While many prefer to recognize SlipKnot’s lead player, Mick Thomson, as a better player than Jim, I disagree. Jim displays more skill in not just playing really fast, but also overall musicality. His solos are incredible, and he plays a lot more of them than Mick does. His additional work for side-project Stone Sour is equally impressive, even if he plays a few less solos.

NUMBER 3:

Brent Hinds of MASTODON

Yes, I’m giving Mastodon more attention. Shut up. Brent Hinds is a lot of the force behind this powerful group, he is one of their primary writers, and does some of the best improv solos in history. The solos in many Mastodon songs, including Oblivion and Divinations, were made up on the spot. “Here’s how I write my solos: I don’t.” He scores the #3 spot for writing these incredible solos without even thinking about it.

NUMBER 2:

Michael Amott of ARCH ENEMY

While he definitely isn’t the best known guitarist on this list, Michael Amott is one of the most talented people in metal history. He rips at least twenty-kajillion mind-blowing solos in each Arch Enemy album. In fact, in the typical Arch album, there’s more time devoted to his solos than vocalist Angela Gossow’s intense screaming.

NUMBER 1:

Synyster Gates of AVENGED SEVENFOLD

I don’t know what the fuck he was thinking when he came up with that name, either. Synyster Gates, to me, at least, makes Avenged Sevenfold the metal/hard rock gods that they are. He pulls off some ridiculous solos (Almost Easy?), and wrote one of my favorite individual riffs ever. Listen to Afterlife, you’ll know which one it is. Many would disagree, citing people like Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine (That means you, Joel), but I argue that Synyster is just…. Oh, I don’t even know what I’m saying anymore. Take my word for it. Syn is amazing.

That’s it. Next (and definitely last) list: Top 5 Vocalists.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. RayJBady
    April 6, 2010 at 10:23 PM

    YEAH MASTODON!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m glad they’re coming up in the world. They’ve got such great stuff!!!!!!!

  2. Emilia
    June 18, 2010 at 7:36 PM

    I totally agree! Synyster Gates is amazing! he kicks ass. and written on the fretboard of his guitar is “syn” which might have been why he calls himself Synyster, or maybe brian just isnt cool. which is true XD

  3. Remmy
    August 7, 2010 at 3:49 PM

    I think you’re nuts for not having great guitarists like Phil Demmel or Tom Maxwell, there are a lot of guitarists out there, that are a lot better than the guys you have chosen.

    • August 7, 2010 at 4:06 PM

      Don’t get me wrong, Demmel and Maxwell are both great guitarists. I know that. These were only my personal favorite 5 from the last decade, though. I’d make a list of 100 guitarists if I had the time or patience. For reasons I may or may not be able to explain, I just prefer these 5 guitarists over others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

